We have a number of open positions on the committee.  If members are interested in joining the committee please drop the chair an email at  We’re always happy for fresh ideas!


Helen Wright – Chair –

Helen joined the branch in 2007 when she moved from New York to London.  Before that, Helen was a member of the Alec Hall Branch, Scotland, so she’s no stranger to supporting Sunderland around the globe and travelling miles to see them get beat.  Helen’s first match was against Charlton in 1992 when she jumped on the Cup Final Bandwagon and has been suffering ever since.  She’s married to a Coventry fan, and doesn’t talk about Jimmy Hill in the house.


IanIan Todd – Membership Secretary –

In 1967 Ian raided the membership list (no Data Protection legislation then!) at the Sunderland Supporters’ Association office and wrote to all those with Home Counties addresses inviting them to a meeting in a Church Hall near West Ham’s ground before an away game there. The meeting was attended by a football club Director who asked Ian to form the London Branch. The rest, they say, is history!. Ian chaired the Branch until 1984 but has remained on the Committee ever since. As well as dealing with memberships, Ian liaises with the club on SAFC Ladies matters.

Since 1975 Ian has represented the Association at national supporter organisation meetings and is currently a member of the National Council of the Football Supporters’ Federation. Though he has no proof (or memory of the game!) he believes his first visit to Roker Park was on 24th May 1947 and has recently completed his hat-trick of 0-8 defeats.




Richie Cockton – Branch Secretary






Aidan Oct 13

Aidan Daly – Treasurer







Teresa Wilkinson – Social Secretary






Andy McIntosh

Andy McIntosh – Branch disciplinary officer, apparently






Matt having a sup

Matt Woolston – Sports Captain and professional drinker –








Paul Swinney – Merchandising Officer





Eileen Sproates – Newsletter Editor –